New Adventures on the Horizon

newadventuresaheadIn one hour, I will be decked out in a black cap and gown, walking across a stage to receive my college diploma (or at least the empty shell representing what will hopefully be arriving in my mailbox in a few weeks). In just a few hours, I will be a college graduate.

As close as it is, the idea of being done with college–being done with school, aka what I’ve devoted the last 18 years of my life to–kind of terrifies me.

So what do I do when life seems overwhelming with decisions and changes? Throw myself into more changes, adventures, and unknowns. Naturally.

Life after graduation is enough of an adventure on its own–change, uncertainty, new experiences, unknowns…but to mix in some excitement with the apprehension, I have two exciting post-graduation travel adventures just around the corner.

Band Tour: South Korea!

Today I will be graduating from Bethel and moving all of my stuff home. Monday I’ll be at the airport before the sun rises along with 45-or-so other students in Bethel’s awesome wind symphony. For one last hurrah of my Bethel career, I will be going on a 10-day band tour to South Korea!

There we will be spending time in Seoul, Chun Cheon, Daegu, Gyeongju, and the DMZ. Not only will we be performing, but we’ll also get to do things like attend a Taekwando lesson, stay with host families, play tourists, and just soak up a new culture!

The whole idea of going on band tour in two days isn’t something I’ve really had time to process yet (with the whole student teaching…and finals…and graduation thing), but I am beyond excited to get to explore another corner of the world!

That Job Thing: Sweden!

Graduating from college does mean it’s time to enter into the “adult world,” the “real world,” and do things like find a job and a place to live, cook my own meals, and all of that fun stuff! But if I have to do all of those things no matter what, why not do them in another country?

I am ecstatic to have the opportunity to be going to Sweden to teach middle school English for the next two (at least!) years. I will be working with the Internationella Engelska Skolan (IES)–a system of schools started by an American woman in 1993. I will be teaching at the IES school in Boras, which is just outside of Sweden’s second largest city, Gothenburg. The quote below pretty well sums up how I feel about this experience:

if it's both terrifying and amazingAm I a little terrified? At the risk of sounding stereotypically Minnesotan: you betcha! But does it also sound amazing and wonderful and exciting and like an incredible opportunity to grow, explore, and learn? That would be a definite yes. I don’t know all of the details, but it feels right. So I’ll try it out–and who knows where this one decision might take me?

So thanks Bethel for opening up the world to me and making it seem accessible.

It’s time to make my mark.

Leave a Reply

